Apartment Pantoum

I love to live alone,
My apartment is my sanctuary.
Only my friends know,
I dance around my apartment naked.

My apartment is my sanctuary,
hand painted art plastered across the walls.
I dance around my apartment naked,
Feeling free is the ultimate high.

Hand painted art plastered across the walls,
every nothing means a little something.
Feeling free is the ultimate high,
I can be anyone I want.

Every nothing means a little something,
Only my friends know.
I can be anyone I want,
I love – to live alone.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

This poem was actually an exercise in one of my college classes and I would later learn that it is very indicative of my life right now. A Pantoum is a structured poem that has specific rules to be followed. While there are plenty of examples that reflect a better understanding of this form than mine, I certainly hope people who read it are able to recognize it’s pattern.

Leave a Reply

