Dandelion

You left me alone that day,

I never understood why.

 

My many delicate hands reached out

but you never saw me.

 

I sat silently in your breath;

why were you never taken?

 

I count my wishes in days

till the weather starts to change.

 

I have watched limbs loosely

float through the air around me.

 

Friends are fleeting,

maybe you know what I mean.

 

You kiss my hands,

I float away.

 

I freckle the sky;

watch you walk away.

 

I have never known such

a breath to fill the life in me.

 

Still feeling the sweet residue of your kiss

on my iridescent fingers.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

This poem came about from an acquaintance who left my life as quickly as he entered it. But from that encounter came a photo that he took and a subsequent poem that I wrote based upon it. This is the only photo I have posted that has not been taken by me.

 

Leave a Reply

